GFO and Carbon reactor

Scribe

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I ordered a dual reactor from BRS for Carbon and GFO to hopefully help with my algae issues. I've never used Reactors before, and am curious if I should be running them 24/7 or more like my protein skimmer, and run it for like 8-10 hours a day. Also I've read that BRS overestimates how much media you should use in the reactors, where is a good place to find out how much I would need, of each carbon and GFO?

Tab28

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I also have that same dual reactor. The GFO you will need the step the amount weekly until you get the amount recommended. You can find the exact ratio to use on the net. Tank size judges how much to use.

If you dies too much GFO without stepping it weekly you can crash your tank do bd careful. The time it takes to clear the algae out depends on how high your phosphates are and also his much algae you have. I have a 150 gallon with a good amount of algae but not like a neglected tank and phosphates were less than zero. The algae was causing a misreading. The would eat the phosphates causing a zero reading. After about two weeks the phosphate numbed started reading more accurate as the algae level started going down. It took a few months to clear if all out.

The dual chamber reacter is harder to clean since the GFO causes both side to clog up .

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free
I run mine 24/7 my skimmer as well for what that is worth.

Last edited:

AZDesertRat

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Most vendors recommend a maximum dosage of 10 grams of GFO per 10 gallons of tank water, about 1 level teaspoonfull is close. You want to start with half that amount of 5 grams per 10 gallons so you don't shock your system. Personally I keep the 1/2 dose 24/7/365 and find my phosphates to be undetectable with Salifert kits.