Gill Flukes infestation in 2500 Gallon saltwater pond killing my Fish Hypo Salinity and Prazipro are not working

Troy V24

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My Dad owns a 2500 Gallon out door Saltwater Pond lately the Water Quality has been poor and we noticed the fish ( Quarantined for 2 Months) were acting funny for maybe 4-5 days ago turns out it was Gill Flukes and all of our smaller fish have been dying. Since the start of the out break weave been dosing with PraziPro but it hasn't worked then we used Hypo Salinty and its also not working. Today our 10 year old clown trigger died if you can leave advise that would help.

Thank you - Troy P.S My dad is a 15+ Reefer and I'm just trying to help him so if this is Vague note I have no experience caring for fish

Last edited:

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Welcome to Reef2Reef!

How did you diagnose gill flukes?
Can you post a video of the fish/pond?
What is the current salinity/specific gravity?
What fish remain alive?

Jay

OP
OP
T

Troy V24

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, My dad put one of the dead Fish under the Microscope and the fish lost scales and he looked at the wound and it had fluke anchors on it and before it died it was stressed out and swimming sideways I currently don't know what the salinity is but weave lost around 7 fish so far but the big/ Medium fish are still alive

Phlynamjax

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
are you sure your salinity is in proper hyposalinity level? I had flukes that I couldn’t eradicate using prazi. However, I have never encounter flukes that survived 10 days of hyposalinity.

OP
OP
T

Troy V24

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
are you sure your salinity is in proper hyposalinity level? I had flukes that I couldn’t eradicate using prazi. However, I have never encounter flukes that survived 10 days of hyposalinity.