Low Phosphate and Nitrate!

Floyd-

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is it normal to have to dose nitrate and phosphate? My tank is 175 gallons and about 8 months old. I only feed one large cube of frozen a day and maybe a sprinkle of pellets. Also some Nori as needed.

I run a filter sock and skimmer 24/7. Should I stop using the skimmer at the moment?

Noxsolaris

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is it normal to have to dose nitrate and phosphate? My tank is 175 gallons and about 8 months old. I only feed one large cube of frozen a day and maybe a sprinkle of pellets. Also some Nori as needed.

I run a filter sock and skimmer 24/7. Should I stop using the skimmer at the moment?
I’m a newbie myself so I won’t give you some regurgitated answer from something I read on the forum. However, it would probably be good to add more details to your post for the real experts to diagnose. Livestock, actual test values and what test kits used, frequency of water changes, etc. More info the better.

MamaMolo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, It would help to know what your levels are currently at. I have a 55g with 20 gallon sump mixed reef. (Acros, monti, torch, birdsnest, mummy Eye, plate coral, clam, etc) I feed heavy and still have to dose nitrates. (Tip: watch alk when starting to dose as found it lowers & sometimes raises Alk)
271656799_946485675965867_4806834895982234314_n.jpg
I have found that keeping nitrates 5-10 ppm gives the best color with phosphates .05-.1ppm. I just use potassium nitrate from fish of hex but goal is to figure out how to make my own mix of potassium nitrate.

OP
OP
Floyd-

Floyd-

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Livestock:
Hippo Tang
Sailfin tang
5 Chromis
6 line wrasse
two clowns
goby
random snails and hermits

Mostly LPS coral with some monipora caps

Tests are as such:
temp-77.4f
salinity-1.024
ph-8.2
Alk-8.7
Nitrate-0
Phosphate-.01
cal-450
Mag-1350