Mandarin Dragonet impulse buy -- return to store or move to nano tank?

bitstream

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers. I'm fairly new to the hobby... just a few months in, having set up a 20 gallon tank with a couple clowns. I was at the LFS the other day and committed a potential cardinal sin by purchasing a Mandarin Dragonet on impulse, rather than researching thoroughly beforehand. It's wild caught and about 1.5" in length, so obviously pretty young.

The LFS gave me a bag of reef chowder and said "dump one of these in the tank each week and you're good" but my concerns are multiple. 1) The chowder clouds the hell out of my tank for a couple days, 2) The clowns eat dang near everything in minutes, 3) I don't see many pods even at night, and 4) I don't see any indications that the Dragonet is eating. I have tried offering the dragonet flake bits, bits of reef chili, and frozen mysis bits, but it's unsurprisingly not interested.

So I have a few choices:
1) Return the fish to the store for probably 50% credit and chalk this up as a lesson learned
2) Put the Dragonet in a new nano tank where I can try to ween it onto frozen foods and/or pellets, then HOPEFULLY be able to transition it back to my main tank (I do not want to maintain a tank just for one fish, especially considering it'll outgrow it sooner than later).

IF I go the nano tank route, I have a 3 gallon with a small HOB... which may or may not be fine for this little gal for a short while, else if 3 gallons with HOB is truly a no-go in your opinion, I'm dropping at least $200 on a decent 5 gallon nano.

I do adore this little fish, but am torn between the challenge of maintaining a diet that it can survive and thrive on versus taking it back and being out $20 or so.

The other side of the feeding issue is the pods... I have to pay probably $5-10 a week for a small bag of them from the LFS or invest in trying to breed them myself, which is another hassle and expense.