Need help from a Math wizzard/LED Geek

Paul B

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am building a water cooled LED fixture (yeah, I know) and I want to wire it in "parallel".
I have a bunch of 6 volt and 4 volt LEDs from old fixtures and I also have the drivers. But they are designed to run them, like most LEDs in series. I don't want to do that because these will be mounted on a copper tubing with water going through it and I want to use the tubing for one of the wires so I will only have to run one wire.
I know this can be done as I am an electrician but I forgot how to figure out the mili amps required and being an electrician, my mind thinks in light bulbs, not LEDs.
I have built quite a few LED fixtures, but never a water cooled one in parallel. I think it will be a cool Idea as water is much more efficient at cooling then air and the fixture will be very light and simple. The fixtures I took apart for parts are very heavy with 8 fans.
I will also build a radiator out of copper to cool the water but that is the easy part.
I can, of course wire this in series like all LED fixtures, but The LEDs I have are tiny and not real easy to solder so it would be much easier if I can solder one terminal to the pipe. This fixture will be 5' long and use about 60 LEDs but I can use any number of them to make it work.
I will post the specs of the LEDs I have later as I have to figure that out.
So any LED/math wizzards out there can help me?

TheEngineer

Formerly icecool2
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'll do what I can to help you here... For starters, running in parallel and using water cooling is going to use more power, are you OK with that?

You are also going to need a lot of parallel strings, you won't be able to do one big one.

Last edited:
OP
OP
Paul B

Paul B

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0