New here and likely in over my head

gt44ever

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I've been searching around on here for tips and tricks and finally decided I just need to join!

Disclaimer: I did not set up the tank originally, so I don't know exactly how old it or any of the fish are. It was there and stocked when we bought the house. We were told it was "low maintenance" but given some of the other remnants of the previous homeowners, I'm not so sure anymore.

Also, I apologize, but this post is gonna be massive (just like the tank)

Myself:
I'm an engineer and pretty handy (built my own skimmer as detailed below), but am a total noob with keeping fish beyond things like goldfish or maybe a beta. I wasn't expecting to have a tank full of fish when we bought the house, but decided to take the plunge when the realtor did our final walkthrough and called to tell us the fish were still there (it's a "low maintenance" tank after all). I've picked up a decent amount of info between my LFS, sites like this and other various places online, but I'm prolly far from knowledgeable (hence I'm here to learn)

The tank:
Basics:
Marine FO tank
~650 gallon main
~100 gallon sump (haven't actually measured this one out so it might be bigger). Sump is roughly perpendicular to Main as the top of a "T"
Tank is built into the wall in the basement
I believe both tanks are full glass
Shallow, fine sand bed in main with a few rocks that used to be stacked for aquascaping (planning on redoing the aquascaping once other issues are sorted)
Tank was presumably mature when we got it about 2.5 years ago

Residents (all are best guess):
~24"+ Bamboo Shark
~24" black spotted horned shark
~14" blue line grouper
~12" Lionfish (Volitan i think)
~6" Miniatus Grouper
~6" Black Bar Soldierfish
~6" Queen Angel
~8" Catfish (unknown variety)