New here, ground up build. Pointers?

PoweredbyZeus

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all, thanks for having me! It’s settling in to winter here in Minnesota and I need a new hobby! I have a lot of experience scuba diving in the Mediterranean, Red Sea, various places in the Philippines as well. In hopes of reviving some memories from the past, I think I’d like to build a reef of my own. I know there’s many bits and pieces, along with a multitude of processes that need to come together to make this work. I’m willing to do my part and be patient. The necessary time and process to set it up, the substrate types, and rock types to start with etc. Not to mention all the corals and critters. Then there’s all the techy bits that my inner nerd swoons over. My head is spinning. Someone please send help. Thank you in advance!!!

TLDR: I’m starting with nothing. Any help with getting started, resources, etc would be greatly appreciated!

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!!

Clownfish.gif

ajax969

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Research, research, research. Like it was said, go as big as space and budget allows.
also, PATIENCE, this gets preached a ton to all new reefers and I would venture to guess that almost no one follows it.
There is a ton of different ways to do this depending on budget/willingness to spend money/time.
You're not going to have your own slice of the great barrier reef overnight.