New here/Unconventional setup/new to hobby/LOVE IT

rudy3

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, Everyone!

I am very excited for this hobby and to be part of this community. I am new to salt and would love to hear your constructive feedback on my setup.
My freshwater tank is established and has been healthy for about 6 months.
My Salt tank has been cycling for 2 weeks, 25 lbs base rock with a 2 lb live rock to seed coraline and beneficial bacteria.

Questions:
Should I start with a softy coral or fish for livestock? Which species is best for starting out?
What temps should i be maintaining? My Current temps are somewhat stable at 79, being the end of spring, should I be considering some type of chiller?

Salt-
Stand: Ikea Expedit
Salt Mix: Kent Reef Salt
Tank: TopFin 29 Gallon, de-rimmed, painted back glass with foil to control light and temps
Light: Viparspectra 165W
Filtration: Fluval 307 Note: no room for sump/refugium
Livestock: nothing yet
Other: Hyggar Wave maker, one more coming today

Fresh-
Tank: AquaTop Pisces
Filtration: AquaTop Pisces
Light: AquaTop Pisces
Livestock: 8x White Cloud Mountain Minnows, 5x Pigmy Corydoras, ~20 Rili shrimp
Other: Co2 generator with solenoid valve

salt.jpg fresh.jpg

Kristopher Conlin

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!! Looking pretty good so far! I would definitely recommend starting with soft corals. Zoanthids are beautiful and easy to grow. Green star polyp and xenia can get out of control so do them on an island if you want them.

Last edited:

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
14   0   0
OP
OP
rudy3

rudy3

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0