New Pred tank!

PicassoClown04

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys! Currently I am a college freshman in NOLA and I have a lot of experience with aquariums. My dad has been in the hobby for 40 years working with ADG (Houston) as well as people like Julian Sprung and Charles Delbeek (Two Little Fishies).

I couldn’t stand to not have a tank in the room (and may have gotten slightly carried away) so now I have 3 salts and 3 fresh, the newest being a 10 gallon grow out (I have a larger, mature tank at home waiting for them) for a pred tank! Very simple set up for now as the semester ends in 2 weeks so it’s basically a QT style tank. I am not running any medications due to the nature of the inhabitants, they are just under observation. So far there is a dwarf fuzzy lionfish, white wart skin anglerfish, and a geometric eel (which I’m fairly certain is more rare in the hobby?) All are eating live food bred by myself with Hikari silversides about 1x every 2 weeks, which seems okay according to posts by Lion King

Enjoy!
7D6D43FC-E7EF-40D5-8A32-F4A2370BD91D.jpeg
91E70A50-51E2-4405-A9C9-DADF0635E751.jpeg
FE20EE77-C7D8-4C14-82FC-3AC038F80F49.jpeg

Aspect

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I would throw some 2"-3" pvc in there to make the eel more comfortable, and if possible do something with the heater maybe get a smaller one that will fit in the filter because it's a burn hazard. Not sure what size the Eel is but 10g is pretty dang small and being that they're predators there will likely be a significant bio load on a 10 gal without any rock/sand. Just some things to keep in mind, maybe move some established biofilter over.

lion king

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0