New to saltwater

new2nemo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys I'm just starting out with salt water aquariums. I don't know much about them but have always wanted to try it. I bought a 90 gal and have it set up as a sump tank below. I purchased a few small libe rock but was wondering if I could use some rock that was given to me with the tank? I was thinking of making a rockscape later tonight and putting it in my tank would this be ok or would the used rock cause me problems. Thanks.

Arubix

unregistered
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So you have a 90 Gallon sump? Whats your main display tank size? Sorry, I'm just a bit confused.

When you take in someone else's rock, you're also adopting all of their problems. Who knows what pests he has or had? I would just kill the rock and recycle it. Just let it dry out completely and add it to your tank(Still not a guarantee that will kill everything in the rock, may need to look up cooking rock or something). If this setup is fresh and your tank is still cycling then this shouldn't be a problem after you kill the rock.

Also, since you're new... make sure you have around 90 lbs of rock or more in total if the 90 gallon is your tank size. And do a lot of research.

Small triggers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Is the 90 your main tank or sump, I'm a bit confused...
And as far as the LR...you can use what came with the tank, but there may be some unwanted algaes or hit hikers you don't...so what I would do is keep the smallest piece that you can tell is clean to seed the new rock...then rinse the old rock and let it dry out... You never now what's in old rock...unless it was yours...

OP
OP
new2nemo

new2nemo

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0