Phosphate at 0/undetecable nitrates wont drop past 25ppm using NO3PO4-X

Factory909racer2

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So ive been using NOPOX for about 5 months and phosphate is un-detectable and nitrates wont drop below 25ppm. Its weird too because it seems everyone else has the opposite problem with NOPOX. I have heard that NOPOX needs phosphate to be present to reduce nitrate as the bacteria need both to reduce nitrates?

Tank specs
120G display
36G sump

Nitrate: 25-40ppm (sera test kit)
Phos: 0.00 undetectable with salifert kit or red sea
CA: 450 (salifert)
ALK: 11 (sera)
MAG:1220 (red sea)
Ammonia: undetectable
Nitrite: undetectable

Mark Waltermire

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What type of skimmer are you running on this tank?

I have also seen people dosing phosphate back in so that the bacteria can help to lower the nitrate. I personally do not like adding more things to the water and would rather find the route of the problem. How often and what percentage water changes are you doing?

Velcro

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I was in this situation. I dosed phosphate but honestly nitrate reduction was slow at max no3po4x dose. I ended up just doing a series of 40% water changes to lower nitrate to target. The nitrate is staying low with continued dosing.

ChrisOFL

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
6NO3- + 5CH3OH = 3N2 + 5CO2 + 7H2O + 6OH