Planning for Perfection (or as close as I can get!)

squidleydidleydoo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all! I'm new to the hobby but have been fascinated by aquariums my entire life. I've kept a few small freshwater tanks throughout the years, but I was always making compromises to keep things small and cheap, so I never got to have a tank that was what I truly wanted.
Time to change that! What I've really always dreamed of is having a big, beautiful reef tank, so that's what I'm going to do! I can't pull the trigger just yet though, because I'm getting surgery at the end of this year and between the money I have to save for the procedure and the recovery after, it's just not feasible to start something this big yet.
So I'm just planning obsessively right now! I had a bunch of notes and lists in my phone of fish and corals and equipment and finally decided to compile them. I've spent the past few weeks obsessing over this, but it's at a point now that I'm finally ready to share it!

You can take a look at the detailed (and nicely formatted) plans in my google slides here!

But here's the gist: I'm going to get a Red Sea Reefer MAX 425 G2+ (91 gallon display w/ 23 gal sump), because I personally don't enjoy thinking about gear so a "plug-and-play" system is gonna be the best approach for me.

Here's my ideal stock list *EDIT: updated 8/29*:
  • 2 Ocellaris Clownfish (Amphiprion ocellaris)
  • 1 Helfrichi Firefish (Nemateleotris helfrichi)
  • 1 Scissortail Dartfish (Ptereleotris evides)
  • 1 Royal Gramma (Gramma loreto)
  • 2 Pajama Cardinalfish (Sphaeramia nematoptera)
  • 1 One Spot Foxface Rabbitfish (Siganus unimaculatus)
  • 1 Diamond Watchman Goby (Valenciennea puellaris)
  • 1 Midas Blenny (Ecsenius midas)
  • 1 Pink-Streaked Wrasse (Pseudocheilinops ataenia)
  • 1 Naoko’s Fairy Wrasse (Cirrhilabrus naokoae)
  • 1 Mandarin Dragonet (Synchiropus splendidus)
  • 1 Ruby Red Dragonet (Synchiropus sycorax)