Put a Lid on it

Rincon_Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A Note from a newbie for newbies, but veterans please weigh in.

As a saltwater newbie I came into the hobby under the impression lids are optional. Some fish are labeled as jumping risks...but most tanks are shown without lids and the general idea is we don't want to suffocate the tank, spike pH, access is needed etc (I think). Mesh lids are the standard....My experience thus far is that every tank should have a lid.

All fish jump. I had to save my clown who jumped the first day I had him in after Quarantine. Pretty sure my dotty back jumped through a small crevice in my lid even after installed after the clown scare, though he might be hiding in the rocks (His name is Barry and he is probably a serial killer). And!: I just lost a midas blenny to jumping out of QT. None of these fish are labeled flight risks, but none the less have been jumpers.

I don't have any aggressive fish and I have plenty of hiding places in both tanks and the water parameters are reasonable (at least by beginner standards)....but fish jump. Thats my story and I am sticking to it.

Subsequently I have ordered a clearview lid for the DT and will retrofit my current red sea cover for the QT, but will rig something else up in the mean time.

PS....Does anybody have any tricks on how to put together the red sea DIY lid so it doesn't look like hot garbage? For such a sleek looking tank the lid just ends up looking frumpy no matter what I do.

Fink

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've never used the red sea kit specifically, but when I build screen tops with bird netting from the hardware store and window frame kits, I ziptie it on before I push the mesh into the spline to make sure everything is even and to keep the edges at the tightness i want. I think the red sea kit is just a fancy version of what people DIY with hardware store components, so I feel like it would work..