Question for people with curved plexiglass aquariums

Jeff-Ft-Lauderdale

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, just as a preface, I am not new to aquariums (I've had many at various times in my life, ranging from small 1 gallon desk aquariums to 55 gallon-Long, and everything in-between), but I am new to Marine aquariums. I have never had a salt tank before this one, and am in the process of learning stuff. Hoping that I don't destroy this one in the process.

I inherited this 50 gallon aquarium when I bought my Condo recently. It's already cycled and the water is actually very clean. The guy knew what he was doing . But it is a non-typical formfactor. A kind of vertical wedge. It looks like this:

PXL_20220221_222719637.MP.jpg

So I am seeing various scratches and stuff on it. While I have owned many aquariums, I have never owned a plexiglass one like this one. I am seeing marks on the front. Not super deep, but annoying. My question is: Is there any way to remove these without risking more damage to the aquarium? Can they be buffed out or something? Anyone have any experience doing this? Here is a closeup of two of the marks:

Capture.PNG

JumboShrimp

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do I correctly see two (2) different things— long scratches, and the two circled area that look like gouges? Is it the gouges that your are most concerned about / wishing to remove?

OP
OP
Jeff-Ft-Lauderdale

Jeff-Ft-Lauderdale

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do I correctly see two (2) different things— long scratches, and the two circled area that look like gouges? Is it the gouges that your are most concerned about / wishing to remove?
Either / or.

Mostly just seeing if I can improve it at all. I know plexiglass scratches much easier than real glass.

Jedi1199

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0