Question on lighting my Reef Tank

Data

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello! I am new to the hobby with several years of experience in freshwater and plan to convert my 55 gallon African Cichlid tank to a reef tank. Been doing a ton of research and hear really good things about the AI Prime 16 HD light. What have you all thought of this light? Also, my 55 gallon is the standard size being 48 inches long (it is just and Aqueon tank I picked up during the dollar per gallon sale). Would two of these lights work for the tank? I am not planning on doing any sort of corals that are super sensitive or require great light intensity. What kinds of corals would be best for my given light conditions? Thanks!

Pntbll687

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Two would work to light the tank, but you'll be lacking in coverage.

Don't fall into the trap of "I'm not planning to have coral now, so I'll get something that is just OK and upgrade later". This ALWAYS comes back to bite you in the end.

If you're on a budget I would check out some T5 lighting options. A 48in 4 bulb option would be great over a 55g. You could even go with the Aquatic Life Hybrid option, and just use the T5 light for now, and add in some led's later on if you get into coral that need more light.

My opinion is biased. I like the look of T5 over led's, and think we pay way too much for led's that include features you never use. I have T5's on simple outlet timers and smart plugs on my systems.

OP
OP
D

Data

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Two would work to light the tank, but you'll be lacking in coverage.

Don't fall into the trap of "I'm not planning to have coral now, so I'll get something that is just OK and upgrade later". This ALWAYS comes back to bite you in the end.