recycled water marine aquarium, sumpless, only on HOB ad ai pump...

Taposh Mallick

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hi all, I am from INDIA, I had already posted before, my aquarium pics in which I made DIY rocks out of aragonite sand and white cement, for my 180G.
I took down that tank for space constraint and made 125G, after that, I thought followed into my mind when I was working on a project, in which sewage treatment plant needs to be established. I am an ARCHITECT by profession.
I thought about recycling of water.
this made me to jump to few conclusions as I am in this hobby for nearly 2yrs.
1. Water is treated 24x7 x 365 days, into sump with PS,UV and many other things, so what we are achieving? PS as IMO does not work all the time as during feeding ad after few hours of feeding, foam fractioning is seen. UV does not work properly, because all the water is not crossing it. In one sentence, its not selective way. we are loosing energy and cost involved in working.
2. we run 24x7x365 days, a grow light for macro algae in sump to rip off nutrients. this made me think, why we cant use natural sunlight and save energy and cost.
3. after all above 2 points working still I always listen that do a 10-30% water change weekly or fortnightly, the question followed was why its needed, what is there in the water which needs to be removed,after researching, found that , it replenishes lost minerals and trace elements. water gets rid off the mucus and toxins as solution to pollution is dilution. well I was not convinced with such propositions and went on checking my water parameters and found one thing change, that is alkalinity. so I thought that it can be easily dosed, if I somehow clean the water of toxins and mucus and save water and salt.

this lead me to thinking about recycled water concept...