RED SEA Iron test

ddc0715

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im new to testing for trace elements, but need/want to learn. I bought a test kit for iron, potas & iodine and also bought those trace elements to dose with. .
WOW the potas and iodine test seem complex and scary, but the iron tested at 0 and according to the instructions it required a 100ml dose of ironto bring in range for my 175TG.. Seems like alot. Is that alot? Lastly; i use marine trace elements as a (all in one) dosing of trace elements. 4 mls a day of that stuff. So why was my iron at 0? Sorry thats several questions all at once

Reefer5640

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would definitely only dose one trace element program at a time. By using marine trace elements all in one and Red Sea color program you’re adding too much and could end up with nutrient issues. The iron test can be confusing. Here’s what Red Sea says about in the FAQ section of the test kits.

I have tested for Iron using the Colors test kit but I always get a zero reading, is my test kit faulty?
No, your test kit is not faulty.
The iron cycle is a very complex in the marine environment and it can be found in many chemicals forms, from free ions through inorganic and organic molecules up to large colloids connected to metals. This “soup” of chemicals increases the probability of spontaneous reactions, causing elements to spontaneously switch between phases.
These changes are enhanced and controlled by many factors such as salinity, pH but mostly by changes in alkalinity and the amount of organics and colloids in the water.