Reducing the sump noise

LeoBrok3n

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I'm a bit new to this and I've tried to solve it myself with little success. I'm trying to reduce the gurgling noise coming from the durso drain and the drain output in the sump tank.

its a 57 gallon deep blue edge. The sump is 800GPH. This is for a freshwater tank. I'm not ready to move up to salt water and I received the tank at a great discount so I figured I could transition to saltwater later.

I've included two photos showing the reverse durso and a video of the drain at the top of the tank.

1%PihJC6TCOE1whNADX4Gg.jpg

%Y5PfXgoQfaoHKGhmlazwA.jpg

Reef-junky

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’ve never seen anything like that. A durso overflow is one of the crappiest ones you can have. The cap and tube need to be at the top in the overflow. I’ve never seen anyone put it at the bottom. A durso overflow will not be dead silent.

Last edited:

Sailingeric

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a Herbie type and dead silent. Just need to get a good gate valve, not a ball valve, to adjust. Once dialed in silence will ensure.

Reef-junky

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a Herbie type and dead silent. Just need to get a good gate valve, not a ball valve, to adjust. Once dialed in silence will ensure.

He is using a durso overflow. I would not put a valve on that type of overflow. That’s just asking for a flood if the DT doesn’t hold the water you will get from the sump if the pipe plugs.

Jimbo662

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One think I would suggest changing is the depth of the drain pipe. You want it about 1 - 2" below the water. With it deeper it has a harder time purging the air.

Sailingeric

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0