Reliable LFS for fish

Benoit Martin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Do you guys have a favorite reliable LFS to buy live stock from?
When I say reliable, I mean one that sells fish in good health with good survival rate and only rarely encounter diseased fish.

I am a newbie building my first tank and looking for a trusted provider on the East side possibly, Bellevue, Renton, etc...

CC13

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
When I say reliable, I mean one that sells fish in good health with good survival rate and only rarely encounter diseased fish.

I am a newbie building my first tank and looking for a trusted provider on the East side possibly, Bellevue, Renton, etc...

Very honestly, your not going to find a store anywhere that is free of diseases. You have to understand that fish come in massive shipments from wholesalers and fish get placed in the same tank as existing and new addition fish each week. If any one single fish has a disease, they all have it, and the whole system and all the tanks that are connected also can and most likely are infected. This is not a jab at any LFS, but its simply not economically feasible or profitable to take the steps really needed to properly QT and treat each fish, then tear the system down, sterilize, repeat. Its just not going to happen.

Its up to you to QT properly and ensure that your fish are healthy before you add them into your main system. Most vendors on here will sell and ship 'healthy' fish. But again, its up to you to QT and treat for diseases before adding to your system.

OP
OP
Benoit Martin

Benoit Martin

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0