Salt without NaCl - a problem

Waldek M.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I dispense full balling in the form of dissolved CaCl, NaOH powders and NaCl-free salt from Preis. However, I noticed that when using salt without NaCl, a brown deposit appears on the sand, and when I stop using it, it visibly disappears. Will stopping dosing permanently disturb the ionic balance that so many people talk about and observe, which may lead to the destruction of the tank? I will also add that I also dose TM A- and K+ elements, and I also do constant water changes every week in the amount of about 8% with TM Pro Reef salt. I don't use Balling in large amounts yet, +-20ml/day. The main cast are LPS corals. Everything is growing nicely, but I have been breeding for 14 months and populating the aquarium with small strains, so they are not large colonies yet.

OP
OP
W

Waldek M.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure what the brown is. Do you think it is an organism, such as diatoms, or a chemical precipitate, such as iron?

is it only in lit areas?
I really think it's a brown and red dino. I'm trying to get a microscope to be sure.
Didn't even think about iron. I give KZ one or two drops a day.
Diatoms, probably not. I always check the water before changing

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Then it may be because the part C is alleviating the limitation of a trace element. That’s not usually a good way to control pests because it may be limiting organisms you want to grow.

OP
OP
W

Waldek M.

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Then it may be because the part C is alleviating the limitation of a trace element. That’s not usually a good way to control pests because it may be limiting organisms you want to grow.
So you can't give up part C and look for another way to get rid of sand browning?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist