Skimmer Q&A Thread

JNalley

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i'm new to skimmers. This 65G system has been running since New Years but was kickstarted from my 15G that had been running since last July. I added a Bubble Magus Curve 3 Extreme last month really just because I wanted to add a CO2 scrubber and its been working great to raise my pH but the skimming side seems to be a bit inconsistent.

I'm currently getting my best skim with the skimmer raised 3" and on max but sometimes I get a really nice dark skim and a few days later the bubbles aren't even reaching halfway up the neck of the skimmer. If I adjust it so that the bubbles reach the top then it'll work alright but then i'll end up with a super wet skim and overflowing in a few days. Is it because there isn't much in the water to skim? Should I just keep it the way it is?
Skimmers will not constantly skim, they will only skim when there's enough solids in the water column to skim. So raising it and lowering it constantly or fiddling with the internal water level is not really necessary. Just leave it be.

On a side note, I am using the Curve Elite 5, it functions as advertised at the rated depth. I think with the Curve 3 Extreme, It's supposed to sit in 7-8" of water with the valve wide open. I hope that helps

Danyole

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
hardest thing to do with a skimmer is to resist fiddling with it. RESIST!!!

what is your bioload (fish, inverts, corals etc..)?? May not be much to skim!

if it's at 7-8 inches of water from base of skimmer to surface then just run it with the gate wide open and leave it alone. I'm not a fan of those rock pumps due to longevity but they still should generate good bubbles.