Slow starter

ryany25

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, my name is Ryan and I live in southern PA. I am completely new to saltwater. I have a 75 gallon that is cycled, but I’m waiting to add fish until I get back from an upcoming vacation. I have a couple of questions. I’ve seeded the tank with pods and have been feeding phyto daily. Was seeding pods before getting anything else going a good idea? Is there anything else I can get started before adding a fish? I’m interested in starting with a pair of clowns and an anemone. What are the best beginner anemones that will host clowns? Can I put the anemone in when I add fish?

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Welcome to Reef2Reef!!! It is a safer approach to wait to add anemones until the tank matures. Good luck!

Clownfish.gif

OP
OP
ryany25

ryany25

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks. How about coral? Do they also need a more established tank? My tank was started with live sand, dry rock, and a couple live rock from lfs. I’m using an FX4 for now but will probably go with a sump after my wife forgets what I’ve spent so far. I have a gyre in as well. I put in pods and cerith snails from algae barn, and the live rock came with a few hermit crabs. I had lots of freshwater tanks and am very excited to be starting up a reef after wanting too for years.

Attachments

• IMG_4589.jpeg
    IMG_4589.jpeg
    146.5 KB · Views: 48

Sleeping Giant

Proud Canadian Reefer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0