Smoking gun? Lithium at 5,922 ug/l! Whoa!

David.Basti

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Randy,

I just got my Triton results back, and the lithium is listed at 5922 ug/l. I have been witnessing a progressive decline and mortality of my SPS, mostly acropora and montipora and a T. maxima, over the last 8 months. I have largely ruled out multiple pests, alkalinity swings, and poor water quality (except for lithium, LOL). Could this just be a spurious result? I have been using Crystal Sea Marinemix for 4 years now with apparent success. But could the problem be a bad lot of salt, or is the lithium in my well water (which tested fine, although they don't routinely test for lithium)? Maybe I should switch salt and work on multiple small water changes since there is not likely a quick fix? Oh well, any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks ~

Dave

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If I recall correctly, some folks (e.g., Larry Jackson, I think) in the past where certain salts (e.g., Coralife) had super high lithium had issues with certain star fish. I do not know if it is an issue for SPS at the level you post.

There are folks who also have very high lithium and I do not recall them saying they had any apparent problems. Maybe some of them will post here.

Swaefa

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Today I received my test results from Triton and was surprised to see, according to Triton, my tank had high levels of lithium as well. Not as high as yours, but mine was 467ug/l, which is still twice as high as Triton believes is a reasonable level. Currently I am using HW Marinemix Reefer Salt. In the next day or so I will mixing up a batch of new water and submitting it to Triton for testing. If the results indicate the salt was the problem, I will come back and post here.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0