Stressed/lost tissue goniopora from clownfish spawning

Kikoboy

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello reefers,

I have a red goniopora for years, its about 10 inches when fully extended and has never given me any problems. It’s the home of my clownfish, Which has been spawning of late. This is actually the second time around, the first batch hatched about 2
Weeks ago and was probably eaten/blown away by the pumps. The second batch of eggs appeared about 3 days ago, and my goniopora has shriveled up more and more each day. The part of the goniopora right next to the eggs has been completely closed the last day or two, to the point where I see skeleton. Today, I noticed there Is actually ripped tissue from the closed up part (right bottom red circle in the picture attached) of the Goni, so I’m a little worried. I have no experience breeding clownfish, nor any intent on starting. My main concern is the Goni, will the lost tissue continue to spread? At this point, can anyone tell me:

1. short of removing the clownfish, is there a way to stop the spawning in the future?
2. Will the lost tissue on the Goni get worse, potentially killing it as it spreads?

I’ve attached a video. If it doesn’t work please see the picture attached instead. The left top red circle in the picture is where the eggs are.

thanks in advance DD21BA25-8E0C-4E6C-AFE2-73F07260EFB8.jpeg

Attachments

• IMG_0652.MOV
    61.6 MB

laverda

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0