Stupid Biopellets Question

macon77

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience with Biopellets whatsoever. So, I could use a bit of insight.

If I were to "start a batch" of biopellets, and move it into a brand new tank (new sand, rock, etcetera) in a few months, what would it do for the new tank in terms of avoiding a cycle?

Thanks for your time.

SunnyX

ReefSite.com
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, no matter what you do you will go through a cycle, short or long in duration . If you plan on starting fresh I would recommend that you seed your tank with bacteria such as Zeobak or MB7, and get some water from a local "clean" reef tank. Better yet, if you can get at least 40% of the new tank water from a local established reef it would go a long way in establishing the new tank, and reducing the time of cycling.

Will the rock be live? If not, I would highly recommend that it is. The rocks have bacteria, Microfauna, and certain things that you wouldn't be able to get with dry rock.

If you were to start the tank without live rock the pellets would not work efficiently. The bacteria needs N03 and P04 in order to grow correctly. The pellets likely won't fully kick in anyway until around week 6. When I added pellets I had a very tiny bump in nutrients akin to a mini cycle.6 weeks later and my tank has never looked better.

Good luck,

Sonny

P.S. There are no stupid questions. ;)

drainbamage

Extreme Whippersnapper
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sonny- as an add on question- do you need to ramp up the BP quantity or can you just start at max dosage? Curious if the problem is a mass influx of carbons or if there's another reason for needing to do the slow ramp up?

I've done vodka and zeovit rocks both with a zero ramp-up and experienced no noticeable downsides to having done it, so curious if the BPs would be similar, or if they actually would have a problem with no ramp up

OP
OP
macon77

macon77