Sudden drastic Calcium spike?

Xefan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

I'm still fairly new to the hobby, I've only been running my tank a few months. We installed a Trident about a week ago and it showed our Calcium was too high, way up at about 576. I think we'd been misreading our Red Sea test kits and over-dosing as a result. Since then Calcium has slowly been coming down, reaching 503 at midnight last night, so I was happy with that.

At lunchtime today the second daily test ran, and showed Calcium had skyrocketed in 12 hours from 503 to 613. I thought this might be a bad test, so I made the Trident re-run it and it then said 637.

We've not added anything in this timeframe, and the only things going on in the tank are that a small rock with some zoas on slipped from it's perch last night (our conch was under it when I lifted it off), and our pistol shrimp has been super active digging away this morning since first thing, we don't usually see him until later on which is a bit unusual, but he looks healthy as does his goby friend.

Our Alkalinity has been sliding up and has reached 11.25. Other measurements (either from Trident, or taken by Hanna tests) are:
Magnesium: 1405
Phosphate: 0.03
Ammonia: 0.006
Salinity: 33.9
Nitrate: 8.5
PH: 8.14

The only thing I can think could've caused this is the rock falling off with the Zoa on; I moved it down to the sand to prevent it falling again, but where it was is covered in white chalky substance like as though you rubbed a bit of chalk against a rock. Could the rock this Zoa was on have been insanely Calcium rich and whatever knocked it off caused it to leech out?

This is in a 300 litre tank. It looks fairly happy and healthy otherwise.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How are you adjusting Calcium/alk?
Something seems to be adding calcium, otherwise you have a testing error?

jda

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0