T5 or LED ?

Texasfishkeeper

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I’m completely new to Salt Water so that’s why the title of this thread sounds so basic. But I’m tryna switch my FOWLR tank to a reef tank. It’s a 20g long (30”) and I was thinking of buying a coralife t5 light that’s 30”. Do y’all recommend this light ( the guy I’m buying from is only selling it $50 preowned) or should I buy a new led light. Also to note I’m on a strict budget so I can’t go out and buy an expensive fancy light like I want.

OP
OP
T

Texasfishkeeper

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think your concluding statement answered your question for you lol. Can’t go wrong with T5 especially if it’s your only option.
I mean there’s some cheap leds out there from like 70- 100 bucks that got some good reviews, but I just don’t know if corals grow better with leds or T5 , idk if that makes sense lol

CCauthers

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
One thing to keep in mind is that T5 bulbs need to be replaced every so often

ReefHomieJon

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I mean there’s some cheap leds out there from like 70- 100 bucks that got some good reviews, but I just don’t know if corals grow better with leds or T5 , idk if that makes sense lol
I have 3 360xs but over a 6’ tank so I’m under lit and I have a mixed reef doing excellent even montiporas doing great and growing some acros but I’m really supposed to have like 2 more but I’m planning on adding aquatic life and going hybrid so I lose the shading. So it boils down to what you’re goi g to keep. That t5 fixture will let you grow anything but there is bulb replacement. And a cheap led light grow softies and some lps but prolly not sps so y gotta weigh all that out too.

OP
OP
T

Texasfishkeeper

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0