Tank Cracked need some advice

nicholasng11

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Reefers! This is my first time posting so please forgive me if I’m doing this incorrectly. So last Friday the 38g IM cracked along the side panel, I immediately move all my life stock and rocks to a storage bin, as of now storage bin is running without any filtration. The good news coming out from this is that my “parole officer” approves for a 120g. What are the next steps I should do in order to move all the life stock safely. As for my current situation can I leave the life stock in the storage bin until the new tank arrive? Thanks guys. Any advice is appropriate it.

0D9BFCA0-FBB2-4B90-BA77-3FCBE9E91663.jpeg 7DE687A7-A204-45E8-A154-B3C87B8735AC.jpeg

andrewey

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So long as the storage bin meets the requirements of the animals, you can leave them in there permanently if you needed to. Just make sure you maintain salinity, temperature, gas exchange, and your water parameters should be the same as they were in the original tank, ideally. Therefore, monitor the same parameters and perform the same maintenance. If you took anything offline, either install it again, find an alternative in the interim, or determine if it was necessary. The glass is just for our viewing- just make sure the animals have enough space, your corals aren't touching if they are likely to harm each other, and your lighting/flow are optimized for the animals in the tank.

If you are going to reuse any of the sand from the old tank, I would personally suggest you rinse it, more so now that part of it is out of water.

Sorry about the crack! Great catch!

92Miata

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Get some life support on the storage bin - couple powerheads and a heater at a minimum. If you can get the skimmer running in there, that's even better.