Test kit suggestions

reefermadnes5

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings all,
Im looking for suggestions on accurate kits with focus on tests that do NOT rely on color comparisons.
Im a noob with marine aquarium chemistry. I am however a professional certified pool operator so im very familiar with water chemistry and different test kits and the levels of accuracy between comparison, end point color change and dropwise testing. My favorite at work is an end point color change with super accurate results. Im not shy about complicated test processes or adding multiple reagents for maximum accuracy. Im also not expectng the best to come as the most inexpensive.

My goal is to build my current 75g (canister filter) fowlr (live rock is still seeding) into a tank that can hold an anemonie, some macro algaes and maybe compatible corals that are easy. I just started adding reef complete and have a seachem calcium test kit arriving in a few days. Im also adding coralline purple and pink to seed and crust the rocks i hope. Ive read this needs an elevated level of mag and stramonium. Are these able to be tested with kits other than color comparators? Is it even that important of an aspect that i would neeed an accurate test or is an approxmate acceptable in the hobby?

LeDart

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I would recommend Hanna Instruments, I currently use their multi-parameter testing kit, it costs HI91775 Photometer, Hanna is known for their accuracy and precision. The test kit can be found BRS, and other online retailers, here is the link:
it also includes bluetooth compatibility, an app, and stores your test results in the cloud (when connected to the app on your phone)

Sophie"s mom

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Greetings all,
Im looking for suggestions on accurate kits with focus on tests that do NOT rely on color comparisons.