Trying to design a cabinet where everything fits

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I'm trying to design a cabinet to sit next to the tank in my next build. This cabinet will be LARGE as it will house the sump and most of the equipment. I'm not very good at designing these things, so I'm wondering what steps I should take in trying to work it all out. I really need a "Designing an Equipment Space for Dummies" guide! LOL!

OP
OP
Daniel@R2R

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I figure step 1 is listing all equipment that will go in there. It's after that step that I get overwhelmed. Trying to figure out a layout where everything fits and connections are in the right places and access is easy to maintain...etc.

RandyL

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you have the equipment already, I'd suggest placing it inside a taped-off square on a floor or a piece of cardboard cut to the size of the floor of the cabinet you intend to build. That will help you envision how easy it will be to work on as you go about the daily/weekly/monthly maintenance. You'll be able to experiment with different layouts and decide what works best.

jaayy

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Now
I figure step 1 is listing all equipment that will go in there. It's after that step that I get overwhelmed. Trying to figure out a layout where everything fits and connections are in the right places and access is easy to maintain...etc.
Now you should sketch your cabinet, identify where each equipment will be in your cabinet and how much space each equipment will take.

Reefer_kano

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm literally in the middle of a large stand with a side cabinet for the 180 upgrade.
Still have to put in the front paneling and cabinet door then paint.
20230711_124136.jpg

geologeek

Community Member
View Badges