Unknown disease(s) on ‘captive’ bred tang

aqua_phil

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey folks, was hoping someone could help me identify what’s wrong with my blue tang. I am a newbie and have been in this hobby for about a year.

I got two blue tangs like 5 months ago from
Blue zoo aquatics and put them in my 750xxl. The first one died within a month. The second one was doing fine and one day it disappeared. It then reappeared a month or two later. Then it disappeared again. Then it reappeared. It’s about 1.5 inches. When I tell you he disappeared I mean it. I looked everywhere, concluded he was dead and then somehow, he would reappear. About a month back I found him sliding himself like a book in between rocks and literally sitting still. Just breathing. I thought he was gonna die, and I couldn’t catch him. Then he disappeared again. 6 weeks later, today, I find him under a rock today. Breathing and still. 45 minutes later, I lifted the rock out of my tank and grabbed him by the tail and plopped him into the 70 gallon that’s connected to the 750. Here I was finally able to observe his behavior:

1) lil guy was starving. Spot fed him. He ate a ton!
2) he looks like he’s scratching, and is trying to find a rock to crawl in and just chill. He probably has ich but I don’t know anything.
3) he looks diseased.

So, I don’t think this guy has much time left in this tank even though he’s somehow found a way to survive.

Any help is appreciated! Here are some pictures:

IMG_6331.jpeg
IMG_6327.jpeg IMG_6317.jpeg

OP
OP
A

aqua_phil

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is a vid.

I know these guys are ich conventions but he may have other things wrong. I’ve got a hospital tank I could set up.

He looks like he’s got powder all over him, but velvet would’ve killed him ages ago. So I’m stumped.

Attachments

• IMG_6332.mov
    85.9 MB

Jay Hemdal

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here is a vid.