Water Flow Confusion - Tunze Stream

Broadwave

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone,

I've been keeping various sized reef tanks since 2001 but aquarium flow has always been one of those reef subjects that has confused the crap out of me and has never been clear and seems to change depending on whom you talk to. I have 2 Tunze Stream 6105 controllable pumps, and would like to use them on my reef.

My Display is 60x27x27 (190 gallons) with the Tunze Streams 6105's being 3434 gph each (6868 total GPH) will that be enough flow for this size tank or should I also incorporate additional power heads? Obviously, the flow patterns will change with aquascape and eventual coral growth. I will also be using my Apex to program random flows with these pumps. However, is this enough flow in the tank to support SPS? at 36x total water volume I would think so, but can never tell.

If I use the Ecotech Marine flow calc http://ecotechmarine.com/calculator/ it looks like it would be enough but still, hard to tell as a lot would depend on flow patterns etc...

Any help or guidance would be much appreciated.

bif24701

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone,

I've been keeping various sized reef tanks since 2001 but aquarium flow has always been one of those reef subjects that has confused the crap out of me and has never been clear and seems to change depending on whom you talk to. I have 2 Tunze Stream 6105 controllable pumps, and would like to use them on my reef.