What are your best tips for someone wanting to build a business with coral

PinkSango

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
As the title asks, what are your best tips for someone wanting to build a business propagating coral? I'm new to the hobby and it's always been my dream to have my own coral farm. (Even possibly help researchers and scientists with building back our natural reefs in some way??)

lynn.reef.nerd

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
3   0   0
Learn from as many people as you can on maintaining a successful system.
Learn methods to prevent pests / diseases.
Have good relationship with your local hobbyist, they will be your first supporters.
Learn how to take good pics of your corals.
Start selling at local swap to get your name/brand out.
Have a good return/DOA policies.
If you are shipping, test shipment by sending to friends from different parts of the country at different time of the years.
Be cautious of who you trust when it comes to business confidentials.
Ask/observe vendors you think are doing well what their methods are.
Don't minimize the affect of what social media can do to help (instagram, facebook, etc.)

avoid talking bad about another business especially with "customers"

Upvote 0

kaos14

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started my own coral propagation business about a year ago, and it's been an amazing journey.
Start with learning the basics and get a good handle on coral care and propagation techniques, right? What helped me a lot was having a mentor who had already been down that road.

Upvote 0

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I started my own coral propagation business about a year ago, and it's been an amazing journey.
Start with learning the basics and get a good handle on coral care and propagation techniques, right? What helped me a lot was having a mentor who had already been down that road.