What exactly would I need to try rasing Lyretail Damsels?

andrewkw

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I believe the species is Neopomacentrus azysron but I could be wrong. To be honest I've always considered them yellowtail chromis.

I have 2 males and 2 females. They have been laying eggs behind the rockwork in my reef for several months perhaps longer. I've actually had them about 5 years in 3 separate tanks. Bought 5 and one died in QT the other 4 have been fine since. These guys have no retail value at all. I think I paid $6 each for them. I know this. I also know damsels have smaller fry then clownfish so they need S rotifers not L. What I don't know is exactly how much rotifers do I need to try and raise them?

Would one bottle be enough to give it a go? Would I need phytoplankton as well?

I have no experience breeding fish, but I have raised dwarf cuttlefish from eggs and kept mysid shrimp alive ect. I hatched baby brine to feed the mysid to feed the cuttlefish and have extra small tanks / sponge filters, air pumps, heaters ect.

Would I have to catch the fry after they hatch with a rotifer screen or something similar or could I siphon the eggs off the glass? Not looking to start a breeding setup just want to see if I can raise a few to adulthood and then maybe try another species at a later time. I have time on my hands and fish laying eggs. I don't mind investing a little money and a moderate amount of time but if I need to spend 100s of dollars to raise a few $6 fish I will probably pass. They aren't likely to stop laying anytime soon so at the very least creating this thread will let me know what I'd need to try if I don't end up trying right away. Thanks in advance.

IMG_0750.JPG

Daniel@R2R

Living the Reef Life
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I wonder if maybe someone on the #reefsquad might know.

Shep

Acan Connoisseur
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0