What size Co2 scrubber?

Andresnyc93

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

I am currently having issues with my PH and struggling to stay past 7.9, I have tried opening more windows which isn’t suitable for too long since the winter is pretty cold in NYC. I’ve never used a CO2 scrubber before so I’m wondering if anyone can tell me what size scrubber so I need, I’m running a Reef Octopus 110INT. I have a 85 gallon DT with 15 gallon sump and I am very tight on space in the stand so something compact would be ideal.
Thanks in advance!

EB5B6F67-4E16-44C0-8726-334BAB1AF53F.png

OP
OP
Andresnyc93

Andresnyc93

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Does opening the windows raise the pH though? I think whatever size you can fit is probably what's best to go with (and smaller units will theoretically be cheaper to operate).
Slightly but it does, does it need to sit somewhere specifically or could I put behind the sump?

RGoltz

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would buy whatever unit fits easily in your sump or stand area. My experience running a 1 liter scrubber on my 425XL has been great with PH never dropping below 8.2.

I have been surprised by how long the media lasts. This is anecdotal but when I installed the scrubber I ran the a hose from the input on the scrubber to outside my stand (not outside my house). It has made me wonder if my PH would have been improved by just drawing my skimmer air from outside the stand. I don’t have any incentive to experiment now but if I were in your position, I would at least try this before adding a scrubber.

OP
OP
Andresnyc93

Andresnyc93

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would buy whatever unit fits easily in your sump or stand area. My experience running a 1 liter scrubber on my 425XL has been great with PH never dropping below 8.2.