Where do YOU stick your zoas?

starypotter

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,
I'm new to the hobby and got my first 5 zoas at reef a palooza a couple weeks ago, they're all frags from 3-10 polyps and I've acclimated them at the bottom on a makeshift frag rack. Well now I'm ready to start thinking of moving them around and seeing where in the tank they're going to go. I'm curious to know what everybody does with their frags. Do you leave them on the plugs, remove them from the plugs and stick them somewhere else? Attach them to your rock, use LR crumbles to stick them on or whatever else you do with them, I'm curious to see what people usually do with them. I think I'm going to look into learning how to remove them from the plugs soon, I'm not too much of a fan of one of the decorative style plugs that one of the vendors used. Pictures to show off your favorite spots are always welcome.
These are mine from when I first got them.
IMG_0147 2.JPG

rogersb

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If they are glued to a plug on rubble or a large blob of glue I pop that off and get it on my rockwork. If it's grown onto the plug, I break off the stem of the plug and it goes onto my rock. Eventually the zoas overgrow the plug and you don't even know it's there.

OP
OP
starypotter

starypotter

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If they are glued to a plug on rubble or a large blob of glue I pop that off and get it on my rockwork. If it's grown onto the plug, I break off the stem of the plug and it goes onto my rock. Eventually the zoas overgrow the plug and you don't even know it's there.
What do you do if it grows onto your rock work and you want to rearrange the rock work or frag the zoa? I like the look of the zoas almost covering the rocks, but I want to future proof as much as I can.

goatcorals

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0