Why Aren't My Zoa's Opening Up?

Zach72202

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I will try to me most comprehensive as I can at the moment. I am not very good with saltwater, but I am very well versed in freshwater, so I have the basics down, just so ya'll know where I stand. Pictures of the tank and zoas are attached.

My current issue is that my zoas are not opening up, usually they open about halfway. This has been ongoing for about a month (yeah I know) and I really am not sure of the cause, but I suspect high nitrates.

The passed few weeks, the maintenance just hasn't been getting done. Last week I did about a 20% waterchange and today I did a 50% waterchange. Before those two, I cannot remember the last time I did one. Oops...

So here is the tank setup and equipment and know parameters:

Tank: Fluval Flex 32 Marine Version (Full tank image attached, full white enabled for maximum clarity, not typical lighting)
Lighting: Stock Fluval Marine Light
-Runtime+Percentages: 8 Hours Total
-White: 45%@6hrs then to 10%@4hrs
-Red: 30%@6hrs
-Purple/Blue/Cyan: 100%@10hrs

Fluval CP2 (425gph) On the Right side (Shown in image)
Stock Circulation pump in the overflow
Sicce Powerhead on the left, not much known about it, I don't run it all the time.
Still using the stock media sponges.

Known Parameters:

Nitrates: 20~ppm (API Master Test Kit)
pH: 8.2-8.4~
Salinity: 1.024 (Has been around 1.026-1.027 prior to change)
Temperature: 82F~

I use Brightwell NeoMarine Salt and RO water (Not RODI, just RO, comes out about 9-13ppm)

Current fish/invert livestock:
1 Mandarin Dragonet (Image attached for funzies)
2 Ocellaris Clownfish
4 Bengaii Cardinals
1 Orchid Dottyback

2 Peppermint Shrimp
12~ Hermit Crabs
1 Mexican Turbo Snail
4~ Astria Snails

*Added Today*
8 Nassarius Snails
1 Pincushion Urchin

Additional Information: