My IM 40L Build

Joseph93

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This post is actually coming a bit late. I set my tank up in the beginning of April, but I've been directing my time and energy towards setting it up. Apologies for the food blog length description of my tank. I've always wanted to do a build thread (and somewhat relatedly, wanted to start a food blog when I was younger), but I didn't know if anyone would engage with the content I'd create. When planning this tank, I really appreciated the build threads people have made here. There's also something cool about seeing build threads from others who have the same tank.

After a five-year hiatus, I decided to get back into the hobby. I have a lot of experience with freshwater and not as but with saltwater. I had a 10G tank for about 2 years, with a pair of clowns and softies, but it wasn't the right time in my life. After an ATO failure led to my corals dying, one of my clownfish terrorized the other to death, and I had to move a few times. So I left the hobby.

In March of this year, I decided to get back into the hobby and started to cycle a few pounds of dry rock in an old 5G I had laying around while I looked for something bigger. It was an old Fluval AIO peninsula style sitting in my parents basement, which I used briefly before getting the 10G. The pump and plumbing was lost to time. With a few pieces of rock (including a small one from my LFS' display tank), a water pump in the main display, and a few bags of filter media I was off to the races. While the 5G looked inhospitable, the plan was to cycle some rock and filter media, so that my new tank could have fish earlier. I was used to the 3-4 week cycles we used to do for freshwater back in my day and eager to cut that down as much as I could.