OP
OP
bhanko

bhanko

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'd ask basically the same question -- why are they a problem for "you"?
*to me they're free, natural filtration at worst, unless they're causing some issues (mechanically or cosmetically)
Only an issue because 1) I’m new to this hobby and everything is scary (lol) and 2) just worried that they will impede the float sensor for the fleece roller/ start clogging things up

JoJosReef

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Awesome thanks. Anyone know what the cause could be. I think I read somewhere that it could be silicates which I’ll test for with the triton icp and go from there. Any advice appreciated
You likely have enough nutrients and conditions for their growth (silica for their skeletons, dissolved organic carbons for them to eat, etc.). I consider them most welcome for nutrient consumption, particularly DOCs. Just keep an eye on equipment so that they don't block sensors or obstruct flow for pumps.

Here's a good thread post with helpful links to read:

JoJosReef

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your phosphates are fine where they are. Can go up or down, just not to zero. Nitrates could go up a bit. But all that depends entirely on what is living in your tank and what you put into the tank every day.

Do you have nuisance algae problems? That could be pushing down your nutrients. My phosphates are 0.06-0.1, and my nitrates are near zero, but I dump a a TON of variety food in daily, so corals seem to be getting what they need.

OP
OP
bhanko

bhanko

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Your phosphates are fine where they are. Can go up or down, just not to zero. Nitrates could go up a bit. But all that depends entirely on what is living in your tank and what you put into the tank every day.