bristleworm with antennas?

kyla bidwell

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello R2R! Ive searched the internet for months and cant seem to id this worm in my tank! I dont think its hurting anything. But nonetheless, i dont want something in my tank that I have no clue what it is. It looks almost identical to a bristle worm. Its at least 4 inches long. (Ive seen it extend 4 inches from a rock and there's no telling how many inches went unseen). It comes out at feeding time. But I cant get a pic. Ive been trying for months. If i even move my finger to tap the button to take the pic, it goes back into hiding. So the best i could do was be REALLY still and get a really good look at it. I havent ever seen a bristleworm with antennas. It has 2 antennas that are long. Probably an inch and a half long to 2 inches. Im not good at estimates though. But they are definitely noticeable! And the antennas come out WAY before the worm does. I do have a few feather dusters in the same area. And they are the hard tube kind. If that makes any difference. And the worm has always lived in the same rock. The rock has some radioactive dragon zoanthids on it. Sometimes they dont open. But for the most part they seem ok. What the heck is this worm!?!?!?!?

It should be noted that I am creeped out by worms as it is. I haven't touched a rock without gloves on since i saw my first bristle worm in my tank. I keep them because i like the biodiversity. BUT I don't like not knowing what this is! Hopefully one day ill be able to snap a pic james bond style. But until then, my memory is all we have to rely on :)

Thanks for looking and have a blessed day!

kimba

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not sure what it is, but I was at the LFS the other day and I noticed 2 antennas comming out of the sand. They were everywhere. When I asked what it was the girl told me she usually does fresh water and didn't have a clue.:rolleyes: