Can I Silicone Acrylic?

Trial&Eror

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m glad I got your attention :) This post contains no acrylic or silicone… You’re safe here. You’ve already been click baited so you might as well stick around ->

This post is dedicated to the progress of my wooden “lagoon”. The hobby has always been pretty expensive, but when I saw the prices of tanks and equipment after a lengthy hiatus, I decided to build my own.

I’m a pretty shoddy carpenter and I can’t quite remember if I passed high school geometry (I was probably doing a different type of reefing back then), but I figured “what the heck”. I framed up a 96”x47”x15” box, added the underlayment, stapled the ol’ rubber liner in, and gave her a slick paint job.

Which brings me to square two, the aquascape. This is arguably my favorite part of aquarium building and I would love some feedback on design, function, and the future potential. In order for you guys to give me your two cents, you’ll probably need to know my goals for the tank.

My goals are to do a low stocked tank, a clown pair, CUC, one tang, one wrasse. My long term coral/invert goal, is a species specific anemone based on clowns (subject to change).

I would like to keep the tank barebottom, with sand bed “islands” hidden in the hardscape. My goal for the sand bed
Islands is to isolate macro algaes to their own areas. The main macros being fern caulpera* and dragonsbreath. I am aware of how prolific the fern is and maybe somebody has a better option to offer up! The main goal: to keep the tank as natural as possible, relying on good husbandry and natural nutrient export with minimum external equipment. (Inflation is high and my neighbor only has a chihuahua) Is it too soon for that joke?