Cant stop hair algae...

STLJam

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been battling GHA for about 2 months tank is now 8.5 months old. I have tried 3 day blackout, starting a refug, adding pin cusion urchin, adding lawnmower blenny, adding lots of snails, adding a sea hare (with did good for 24 hrs and then died). Adding pods weekly, adding phyto daily. I feed a pinch of food once a day or a small portion of frozen mysis. I discontinued reef chili about 2 months ago. I have had 0 nitrates for months.

The refug I started 3 weeks ago is growing like crazy (pictures below) and doubles in size every 5 days. Phosp has come down since starting. Refug lights and skimmer on for 12 hrs (reverse main lights). Main light is radion XR30 blue on standard ab+, but only at 40%, down from 60%, and I took white & red to 0. 5g (15%) Water changes weekly (spend about an hour cleaning up the gha).

Tank inhabitants:
Tiger goby, jester court goby, 2 clowns, peppermint shrimp, diamond goby, Halloween urchin, lawnmower blenny, 30+ snails(astraea,certis, nassarius, trochus,nerite), 3 turbos, 1 conch

Reef testing:
6/15: Nitrate 0, phosp .19
6/25: Nitrate 0, phosp .13
6/27: Nitrate 0, phosp .09
6/30: nitrates 0, 78 degrees, 1.026, alk 7.8

Please help!

20240625_090934.jpg 20240630_112722.jpg 20240629_100332.jpg 20240629_100337.jpg 20240629_100342.jpg

shcrimps

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
easiest thing (imo after reading your post) would be to make a little diy algae scrubber with much higher light than what the tank gets so the hair algae accumulates into that and is taking more nutrients than the rest
siphon out as much as you can, shorter and less intense photo period and i’d try to figure out why the sea hare died
i’ve had great success with them in the past when i started tanks with purely dry rock