Fish death in LFS Approved Tank?

sol556

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby and currently have a 6 month old 14 gallon tank (skimmer included). The tank started off with a 1 month cycling period. I then placed 2 duncan corals that have begun to bud, followed by 4 Zoas later on, one torch much later, a hammer, a (small) GSP, a pair of clowns, one sexy shrimp.... and in the past three weeks, one rock flower anemone. For the cleanup crew, I have one small violet/purple urchin (free from the LFS), 1 hermit, and at least 6 larger snails (there are some smaller ones crawling around the tank that came with live rock). I know I have some brittle stars and a centipede like thing in there as well that must have come from the rock, they really only come out at night though.

My corals seemed to be growing well and my clowns (≤ ~2inch, been with the tank since month 1) seemed happy enough in their own little corner of the tank, so I wanted to add a small (≥~1 inch) yellowtailed blue damsel. I got the fish from an LFS I normally purchase coral from, and for the first day, the damsel looked fine. Hiding in and out of rocks, and was a really great fish to look at. It seemed like it was getting along with the clown fish, and generally it stayed towards the middle of the tank under the rock arches while the clowns preferred their spot closer to the back. Every once in awhile I noticed they would look at each other, but not much more than that happened. I fed the fish once, and saw the damsel eat a few things, then spit it out if it was too big.