Is my Coral dead?

namlessdude

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to salt water fish tank and honestly, i jumped in a little too fast. I bought this coral which i can't remember the name of and 1 feel like it is dying now after being in the tank for about 5ish days.
The coral initially was fine and standing up straight, but today it got like this. Is it dead or is this normal? Can it be saved?
My parameters are a 7.9 pH, and a 1.019 salinity
1000023705.jpg

Dread Pirate Dave

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
How are your nitrates and phosphates reading? I think salinity could be higher. It definitely does not look like it is happy right now. :(

Mr. Mojo Rising

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thats a leather coral, it likes higher water movement to help it stand up. Do you have any powerheads in the tank? They like higher nutrients in the water, what is your nitrate and phosphate level? What is alk and calcium level? What type of light do you have? The salinity is too low for the corals, what type of measuring tool are you using?

OP
OP
N

namlessdude

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thats a leather coral, it likes higher water movement to help it stand up. Do you have any powerheads in the tank? They like higher nutrients in the water, what is your nitrate and phosphate level? What is alk and calcium level? What type of light do you have? The salinity is too low for the corals, what type of measuring tool are you using?
I am using a 7 in one measuring strip to check parameters. My reading from a few minutes ago is:

25 nitrate
5 nitrite
40 alkalinity (unit of measuring is 30s mg/L
40 carbonate (30s mg/L)

I have to say my nitrate and nitrite did go up significantly from two days ago as my readins were 0 on both. Could this be it? And if so, what do i need to do? There's so much to learn!

OP
OP
N

namlessdude

Community Member
View Badges