Lights to bring out red colors in macroalgae

ryukendoK

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m a newbie reefer with a 10gal mixed reef running for about 7 months—so the tank is quite new, but thanks to the guiding hand of an experienced reefer friend who’s been helping me I’ve had a smooth start with cured live rock and sand, few pests, and my macroalgae (Pom Pom Gracilaria and dragons breath) and LPS started groeing without a hitch.

The issue is I’ve themed the tank around red algae and red/orange corals, so now I have masses of red algae in the background that look blackish and washed out under the bluish light from a Kessil a80 Tuna Blue. I would like it to look much redder, like in the pics of macroalgae-dominated tanks often seen here. I added a Lominie Asta 20 freshwater light thinking that it would help, but the light is still much too blue.

How do you guys make red or Orange colors stand out in your aquariums, without the white/blue washed out effect? What lights do you use, and do you have suggestions for a light with more red spectrum for a small tank?

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m a newbie reefer with a 10gal mixed reef running for about 7 months—so the tank is quite new, but thanks to the guiding hand of an experienced reefer friend who’s been helping me I’ve had a smooth start with cured live rock and sand, few pests, and my macroalgae (Pom Pom Gracilaria and dragons breath) and LPS started groeing without a hitch.

The issue is I’ve themed the tank around red algae and red/orange corals, so now I have masses of red algae in the background that look blackish and washed out under the bluish light from a Kessil a80 Tuna Blue. I would like it to look much redder, like in the pics of macroalgae-dominated tanks often seen here. I added a Lominie Asta 20 freshwater light thinking that it would help, but the light is still much too blue.