Never Been Able to Grow Coraline Algae

SmolGoby

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been keeping marine tanks for 6 years now and I've never had as much as a spec of Coraline algae grow in my systems. I started my first reef tank in January, and I thought the additional ca/alk/mg & etc would finally result in Coraline growth, but still 0. The only way I've introduced it is via rock/shells. Tank is a 30g AIO, light is an AI prime 16hd with par around 80-130 trhoughout, only using RODI water & changed the filters before setting up this tank. Any idea why it isn't spreading?

Test 9.5.jpg
snail.jpg

splunty

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a bit of a newbie, but I'll offer 2 cents based on experience. My first (and only) tank is now 9 months old. It's only been in the last month that Coraline started growing. One of the frags had some pink and purple on it, and there's also bright green that probably came in on snails. Everywhere one color grows, the others also grow in patches.

I didn't see a speck until I got pH up above 8.1, Alkalinity up above 8 (aka ~125ppm), and both of them stable. Within a couple of weeks of meeting those criteria, Coraline patches started appearing all over the rocks. Low light, high light, low flow, high flow -- everywhere on the rocks. Curiously there's zero on the glass or plastic parts, probably because I clean them weekly.

Unfortunately, I've also introduced bryopsis somehow, and that's growing just as well. ;(

OP
OP
SmolGoby

SmolGoby

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a bit of a newbie, but I'll offer 2 cents based on experience. My first (and only) tank is now 9 months old. It's only been in the last month that Coraline started growing. One of the frags had some pink and purple on it, and there's also bright green that probably came in on snails. Everywhere one color grows, the others also grow in patches.