Salinity in new tank

cindy78

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello...I am new to salt tanks so please be gentle. I have been cycling a 50 litre for about a fortnight after filling with purchased sea water and topping up by hand with RODI. Finally got around to testing salinity...I think it is too high? Perhaps I messed up when water changing? It reads 38PPT on Instant Ocean hydrometer? Should I panic and remove salt and add more fresh? Xenia and peppermint shimp seem ok...green star polyp has closed up.

PXL_20240810_023757847.jpg

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello...I am new to salt tanks so please be gentle. I have been cycling a 50 litre for about a fortnight after filling with purchased sea water and topping up by hand with RODI. Finally got around to testing salinity...I think it is too high? Perhaps I messed up when water changing? It reads 38PPT on Instant Ocean hydrometer? Should I panic and remove salt and add more fresh? Xenia and peppermint shimp seem ok...green star polyp has closed up.

PXL_20240810_023757847.jpg

Before you do anything get your LFS to check the salinity of your water.

It is quite possible that your hydrometer is incorrect. Swing arm hydrometers are not very accurate and you will need to obtain a better measurement device if you plan to keep coral.

Reef.

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just to be clear, do you mean salt water rather than sea water, as they are two different things, different issues with both.