Specific questions for Bean Animal overflow plumbing

Tigershark22

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Howdy everyone,
I have searched the forums and I can’t seem to find any answers related to my specific issues.
I am new to the hobby and don’t necessarily understand how to adjust the siphon or flow of the system. It is currently running and is quiet but I am only able to operate this way at the lowest output of the return pump with the return valve slightly closed and the drain valve completely open.

The flow still seems to be at its maximum capacity for the overflow and it doesn’t seem to be skimming off accumulated protein at the surface of the display tank.

I have set up a Modular Marine overflow for my 60gal DT with 20gal sump. The overflow is rated for 800gph but seemed a bit odd that it required 1/2” drains.
I am running a Jebao pump that is oversized but I still expected to be able to run it at more than 30% output (pump minimum). It’s rated for roughly 575gph at the 30% output with zero head pressure and I have approximately 6.5-7ft of head pressure. So it’s probably only pushing around 250gph and the overflow seems maxed. Any higher flow and the water rises above the secondary and begins attempting a second full siphon.

The drains run pretty deeply below the sump water level, I’m not sure what effect this has or if this is part of the problem.

I do believe I have the overflow itself plumbed exactly to specifications.

Any advice on how to get this tuned optimally would be greatly appreciated!

Snoopy 67

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
First -- trim the 2 return lines so they are no more than 1" below water when running.
This relieves back pressure especially on start up.
The emergency should be ABOVE the water so you can hear it & know somethings wrong.
My chart claims 1/2" will flow a max of 420GPH with minimal back pressure.