The Coral Reef Project At Stratton Elementary School

Brandon Rutherford

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef 2 Reef

My name is Brandon Rutherford and I've created a coral reef project at Stratton Elementary School in Champaign Illinois where I am a third grade teacher. My project creates and maintains aquariums in classrooms around the school. I work during the school day and after school to teach aquarium keeping to students from a variety of grade levels and try to integrate marine biology and aquarium science into as much of my general curriculum as possible.

My students are avid reef keepers and take our project very seriously. In the following posts I hope to share their story, past and present, and give them a voice in the larger reef community.

<iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/123160683" width="500" height="281" frameborder="0" webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen></iframe>
<p><a href="">2015.03.23 - stratton coral reef project</a> from <a href="https://vimeo.com/user38678251">Gregory Pluta</a> on <a href="https://vimeo.com">Vimeo</a>.</p>

OP
OP
Brandon Rutherford

Brandon Rutherford

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Here's a few pictures of some of our aquariums.

2016598_orig.jpg

Our 90 gallon mixed reef in a third grade classroom

dewboy1127

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Once again absolutely awesome. ..what great school...props to stratton elementary

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They are all stars of aquarium science tell them brandon429 said hello and welcome to lifelong fun

Make some minis

Last edited:

E's gone SPS mad

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0