The Reef-A-Palooza tank goes to middle school

reefiniteasy

Check me out on IG!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What a week it’s been. So I spent last Saturday at Reef-A-Palooza at Caribe Royal here in Orlando. I spent the day with great friends. I bought a new green splatter Bubble Coral as an early birthday present to myself. But the best part was so unexpected. I met this awesome guy, Sam, who owns Wet Work Inc. A premier custom aquarium company based out of Louisiana. So anyway. Sam bought a whole mess of raffle tickets and dumped them all into the raffle bucket for the 75 gallon reef ready tank package. He told us if he wins he would give it away to a young kid at the show just starting out. David from CoralVue then told him I’m a teacher and Sam thought that would be even better and have an impact on more children. So if he won, he decided I’d get the tank. I was super grateful that someone would be so generous in their planning for the what if scenario of winning the tank.

Well, he won, and I have a gorgeous 75 gallon reef ready tank, stand and canopy ensemble to bring with me to my new school next year. Next year I will be teaching 6th grade science at Canoe Creek K8, our districts environmental STEM school. I’m currently at another elementary school in our district and an opportunity came up to go to the STEM school and I jumped at the chance. The kids are going to love the tank and it’s going to look spectacular in the front office where everyone can enjoy and learn from it. I’m still dumbfounded. I had to run back to the resort early Sunday morning with my wife’s van to meet up with an awesome dude, Phil, who works for Reef-A-Palooza. He and another gentleman helped me load up the tank so it can get to its new home.